Saturday, June 5, 2004

The Works of C. S. Lewis

Update 2/5/2011
Once Read, Books Are Marked in Color


The Allegory of Love: A Study in Medieval Tradition (1936)

Rehabilitations and other essays (1939) — with two essays not in Essay Collection (2000)

The Personal Heresy: A Controversy (with E. M. W. Tillyard, 1939)

The Problem of Pain (1940)

A Preface to Paradise Lost (1942)

The Abolition of Man (1943)

Beyond Personality (1944)

Miracles: A Preliminary Study (1947, revised 1960)

Arthurian Torso (1948; on Charles Williams's poetry)

Mere Christianity (1952; based on radio talks of 1941 – 1944)

English Literature in the Sixteenth Century Excluding Drama (1954); 1975 reprint ISBN 0198812981;

Major British Writers, Vol I (1954), Contribution on Edmund Spenser

Surprised by Joy: The Shape of My Early Life (1955; autobiography)

Reflections on the Psalms (1958)

The Four Loves (1960)

Studies in Words (1960)

An Experiment in Criticism (1961)

A Grief Observed (1961; first published under the pseudonym «N. W. Clerk»)

They Asked for a Paper: Papers and Addresses(1962) (All essays found in Essay Collection (2000)

Selections from Layamon's Brut (ed. G L Brook, 1963 Oxford University Press) introduction

The Discarded Image: An Introduction to Medieval and Renaissance Literature (1964)

Studies in Medieval and Renaissance Literature (1966) — not included in Essay Collection (2000)
Spenser's Images of Life (ed. Alastair Fowler, 1967)

Letters to an American Lady (1967)

Christian Reflections (1967; essays and papers)(All essays found in Essay Collection (2000)

Selected Literary Essays (1969) — not included in Essay Collection (2000)

God in the Dock: Essays on Theology and Ethics (1970)

Undeceptions (1971) — with one essay not included in Essay Collection (2000)

Of Other Worlds (1982; essays) — with one essay not included in Essay Collection

Present Concerns (1986; essays)(All essays found in Essay Collection (2000)

All My Road Before Me: The Diary of C. S. Lewis 1922 – 27 (1993)

Compelling Reason: Essays on Ethics and Theology (1998) [40]

Essay Collection: Literature, Philosophy and Short Stories (2000)

Essay Collection: Faith, Christianity and the Church (2000)

Collected Letters, Vol. I: Family Letters 1905 – 1931 (2000)

Collected Letters, Vol. II: Books, Broadcasts and War 1931 – 1949 (2004)

Collected Letters, Vol. III: Narnia, Cambridge and Joy 1950 – 1963 (2007)

The Business Of Heaven:Daily Readings From C. S. Lewis ed. Walter Hooper, 1984, Harvest Book, Harcourt, Inc.


The Pilgrim's Regress (1933)

Out of the Silent Planet (1938)

Perelandra (aka Voyage to Venus) (1943)

That Hideous Strength (1946)

The Screwtape Letters (1942)

The Great Divorce (1945)

The Chronicles of Narnia

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1950)

Prince Caspian (1951)

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1952)

The Silver Chair (1953)

The Horse and His Boy (1954)

The Magician's Nephew (1955)

The Last Battle (1956)

Till We Have Faces (1956)

Screwtape Proposes a Toast (1961) (an addition to The Screwtape Letters)

Letters to Malcolm: Chiefly on Prayer (1964)

The Dark Tower (1977)

Boxen: The Imaginary World of the Young C. S. Lewis (ed. Walter Hooper, 1985)


Spirits in Bondage (1919; published under pseudonym Clive Hamilton)

Dymer (1926; published under pseudonym Clive Hamilton)

Narrative Poems (ed. Walter Hooper, 1969; includes Dymer)

The Collected Poems of C. S. Lewis (ed. Walter Hooper, 1994; includes Spirits in Bondage)

As Editor

George MacDonald: An Anthology (1947)

Essays Presented to Charles Williams (1947)

No comments: